Latest News


Gladstone 2018 Premier’s Anzac prize tour winners are


Gladstone student and teacher are among 2018 Premier’s Anzac prize tour winners This year’s Premier’s Anzac Prize winners includes eight students and two teacher chaperones, including two deserving winners from Tannum Sands. Member for Gladstone Glenn Butcher congratulated Lillian Ward (student) and Jodi Pallett (lead chaperone) from Tannum Sands State High School on their success and subsequent participation in historic centenary commemorations in France this year. “A big congratulation to Lillian and the other remarkable students who presented outstanding multimedia entries to illustrate the Anzac spirit and to demonstrate how the values cherished by modern day Australians are those exemplified by the Anzacs in the battlefields of war. “It’s also fantastic to see Jodi accompanying the students as a teacher chaperone. “This year marks 100 years since the Battle of Villers-Bretonneux on Anzac Day in 1918 to these students will now have a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to attend the historic centenary commemorative dawn service at the Australian War Memorial at Villers-Bretonneux. “Lillian, Jodi and the other students and chaperones will be among the first visitors to the new Sir John Monash Centre Australian National Memorial which has been established at Villers-Bretonneux to provide a lasting legacy from the Centenary of Anzac. “The tour group departs Australian on 13 April 2018 and will return to Australia on 29 April 2018. “Students have the opportunity to honour the Anzac tradition in a personal way by researching and writing about service people from their local area, or who may have enlisted at the same age as they are. “The Premier’s Anzac Prize has effectively engaged our younger generation in understanding the Anzac tradition and how the Anzac spirit is instilled in the Australian way of life,” Mr Butcher said

Print Email